mkdorethy

Guestbook Wall
mountain wrote:
8 years 28 weeks ago

So, your abandonment of this site- is it due to you deciding not to put her in a group home?

mountain wrote:
8 years 31 weeks ago

What a cute smile Kaylie has! I love her hair, too.:)

Will wrote:
9 years 25 weeks ago

Hi Melissa
Let me extend to you my personal welcome (although belated) to our AutismOne Social Network. First let me say that's a handsome young man in your profile picture.
AutismOne is now the “one-stop-shopping center” for information about autism. We have the annual conference in Chicago, AutismOne radio, the Elizabeth Birt Center for Autism Law and Advocacy and now the AutismOne Social Network (and more to come).
I notice that you’ve not made any entries into your profile. Remember, this is a social network. Part of the function of a social network is to meet and interact with others who have common interests. Of course autism is a common interest. But there is more than that. Individuals like to know about a person before becoming a “friend.” That’s where the profile comes in. So whenever you can find the time, please fill in some of the entries of your profile. To do that just click on “My User Menu” next to the Welcome area on the right. From the resulting menu click on “Edit My Profile” and you will be in business.
Helping you interact with others is one of the many things we can do for you. Now here’s something you can do for us. Log in on a regular basis and read the blogs and articles then write a blog yourself. It can be on any subject of interest to you, preferably with some relevance to autism but not necessarily. It can be short or long, whatever it takes for you to express your thoughts. If you have a question then ask it in a blog--people read then they respond. If you see something with which you agree or disagree then please add a comment with your thoughts. This is an open community designed to help and support. We like to hear all sides.
I am looking forward to reading your opinions in future blogs and/or articles.
With my best regards
Will Price, CFO
AutismOne

My Family and Friends

No family members added yet.

My Buddies

No Friends have been added.

My daughter came home for the holiday from her group home.
Member Since November 23, 2009

About Me

Name
Melissa Dorethy
Age
48 years
Location
IL
About Me
Relationship Status: 
Married
Here For: 
Networking
Orientation: 
Caucasian
Hometown: 
IL
Religion: 
Catholic
Zodiac Sign: 
piecies
Children: 
4
Education: 
Master's Social Work
Occupation: 
School Social Worker
A Little About Me: 

I have had four children. My first son is with Jesus. My second is Kaylee in the photo. She is 11yrs old and severely impaired with autism. She has been living in a group home for the last 1 1/2 yrs. She is non-verbal except for "momma". She is incontinent. She can be very loving but at other times can have severe meltdowns. She is an extremely picky eater. She loves music,swimming, and horses.

I have been a school social worker for the past 4 yrs. I have encountered many faces of autism through my work. I feel that there is much still to be learned about this disability and I hope I live to hear what causes this horrible condition. I hope for my daughter's sake and all the families that have been affected by this that the doctors will continue to be dilligent in their research.

I pray that people that look to prey on families with false claims of "cures" for our children will fall prey to charma! I also pray that other mothers and fathers like me and mine will continue to stay strong and know that we are not alone.

Why I am a Part of the AutismOne Community: 

I wanted to become a part of the community in order to learn from others professional and not new ideas and research on autism.

What I am Here For: 
In order to learn more about autism research and ideas. To share with others what I know with my experiences.
Autism Help / Accomplishments: 

I have successfully navigated the Early Intervention, DHS, SSI, IEP, and group home systems. I have tried the holistic approaches of gluten free diets, enzyme therapies, Behavioral therapy, Equine therapy,nutritional supplements, and medications as a treatment for autism.

My Daily Motivations: 

Knowing that God is listening and answering the prayers that should be answered.

Goals: 
My goal is for my daughter to grow up and be able to work in the community, continue to ride horses, and be happy for the rest of her days.
Help Needed: 
Any and all information on up and coming research based medical breakthroughs.
Help to Give: 

As I mentioned earlier my daughter was diagnosed at the age of three. She is 11yrs old now and I have navigated many systems over the years. I would be glad to share any knowledge I have with others.

Activities: 
playing with my kids, reading, watching TV, walks outside when the weather allows
Hobbies: 
same as above
Books / Magazines: 
Taste of Home, Beverly Lewis
Music: 
lite rock, religious rock, country
TV Shows: 
HGTV
Movies: 
Raising Arizona, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, Madagascar
Inspirational Spots: 
Anywhere outside on a sunny day!
Personal Heroes: 
Anyone who has the guts to stand up for what they believe in!